GSP Video

Grandview Speedway – September 11, 2010


(Track Press Release) Some said it could not be done but young Brad Missimer proved them wrong as he became the first to win a NASCAR 358 Modified feature race at Grandview Speedway other than Duane Howard and Craig VonDohren since Kevin Hirthler won back on May 22nd.

September 11, 2010 Video Highlights

Order the complete night of racing on DVD from the GSP Shop or get it at the track!

358 Modifieds Feature Highlights

Late Models Feature Highlights

Chuck Schutz Late Model Heat Race Crash

Missimer, grandson of track owner Bruce Rogers, wheeled the A to Z Furniture/Cheers Tavern No. 327 to victory in the 30-lap Green Lane Wm. Penn/Four Star Lettering NASCAR 358 Modified feature on Saturday night. Randy Stoudt won by inches in the 20-lap Late Model feature topping Danny Snyder coming off the fourth turn of the final lap. Stoudt did it while driving a car owned by John Favinger, one that he had only driven once before.

“No one was going to get us on the bottom, we were just so good on the top,” said Missimer in victory lane. “I saw Craig’s (VonDohren) nose a couple of times but that did not bother me. I just concentrated on hitting my marks.” He had nothing but high praise for his crew, engine builder and sponsors. The win was the Bechtelsville racer’s second of the season.

Duane Howard was able to win the 2010 NASCAR Whelen All American Series Track 358 Modified title with a close to 1,100 point lead over Jeff Strunk. In the Late Models Brian Shuey took the NASCAR Late Model title for the second year in a row in a close finish over past champion Randy Stoudt.

Troy Wink charged to the front on the drop of the green for the 358 Modifieds and set the pace for eight laps when two accidents in two different corners of the one third mile clay speedway brought out the caution and closed the field behind him.
On the restart a multi car accident happened in turn one sending point leader Duane Howard, going for his sixth win in a row, to the pits for tires.

At ten laps Brad Missimer came into the picture putting heavy pressure on Wink and a short time later Missimer took the lead and was able to hold off the strong challenges of Craig VonDohren and Jon Kellner Sr. for the balance of the 30 -lap feature to earn $2,200 for his winning efforts.

VonDohren (Boyertown) held on for second while Kellner (Lansdale) was able to grab third. Ryan Godown (Ringoes) finished fourth and eight time track champion Jeff Strunk (Bechtelsville) earned a fifth place finish.

John Favinger, driving a car normally driven by feature winner Stoudt, made a bold move, going three wide in the fourth turn, to get the lead on the first lap. Quick to challenge Favinger was five feature winner Mike Kellner. With just eight laps in the record book Kellner took the lead with a little contact being made between him and Favinger in Turn 2.

Once in front Kellner was able to establish himself as the man to beat as he built a commanding lead. However on the 18th lap Kellner bobbled in turn two and the result was a multi-car accident on the backstretch that wiped out the Ron Kline entry. Fortunately no one was injured. Kellner headed for the pits.

On the restart it was Danny Snyder in front and looking like a sure winner but Randy Stoudt (Pottstown) was able to move to the inside coming off turn four and lead Snyder across the finish line by just a few inches. Danny Snyder (Green Lane) finished second followed by Late Model champion Brian Shuey (Shoemakersville), John Favinger (Birdsboro) and Bill Henning (Lansdale).

Qualifying heat races, each 8 laps, for the Late Models were won by John Favinger and Wayne Pfeil Jr. In the NASCAR 358 Modified qualifying heats, each 12 laps, victories were earned by Duane Howard, Craig VonDohren, Troy Wink and Todd Marburger. The 10-lap consolation races went to Terry Meitzler and Mike Gular.

The Cargo Trailer Sales 10th place awards, $50 gift certificates, went to Mike Gular in the 358 Modifieds and Doug Walton in the Late Models. The Dan’s Deli Halfway Leader Awards were earned by Brad Missimer in the Modifieds and Mike Kellner in the Late Models.

Coming on Saturday, September 18th is the biggest event of the season when the BPG Racing Freedom 76 for 358 Modifieds is presented at 7 p.m. The race pays $20,000 to win with $10,000 for second down through $300 to start the race. The BFP Specialty Cash Dash will offer $1,000 to win. During the day the third annual Line-X Freedom Fest will be presented starting at 11 a.m. with loads of activities for young and old. Spectator gates for the race open at 3 p.m. for advance ticket holders and ticket windows open at 3:30 p.m.

GREEN LANE WILLIAM PENN/FOUR STAR LETTERING NASCAR 30-LAP 358 MODIFIED FEATURE: 1.Brad Missimer 2. Craig VonDohren 3. Jon Kellner Sr. 4. Ryan Godown 5. Jeff Strunk 6. Billy Pauch Jr. 7. Doug Manmiller 8. Duane Howard 9. Meme DeSantis 10. Mike Gular 11. Ron Seltman 12. Troy Wink 13. Don Norris Jr. 14. Jason Hamilton 15. Terry Meitzler 16. Ryan Grim 17. Kevin Hirthler 18. Danny Erb 19. Shawn Reimert 20. John Willman 21. Jarrod Miller (Balance of field did not finish) 22. Todd Marburger 23. Jon Kellner Jr. 24. A.J. DeSantis 25. Bobby Gunther Walsh 26. Jordan Umbenhauer 27. Glenn Strunk 28. Tom Mayberry

GREEN LANE WILLIAM PENN/FOUR STAR LETTERING NASCAR 20-LAP LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Randy Stoudt 2. Danny Snyder 3. Brian Shuey 4. John Favinger 5. Bill Henning 6. T.J. Mayberry 7. Nate Christman 8. Rick Todorow 9. Ron Christman 10. Doug Walton 11. John Giesler 12. Chuck Schutz 13. Dirk Rimrott 14. George Marrero Jr. (Balance of field did not finish) 15. Mike Kellner 16. Ron Kline 17. Wayne Pfeil Jr. 18. Jamie Undercoffler