GSP Video

Grandview Speedway – September 4, 2010


(Track Press Release) BECHTELSVILLE, PA – Continuing his winning ways Duane Howard drove to his fifth straight NASCAR 358 Modified feature win at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night and the victory earned him $10,000 as champion of the American Racer East Coast Modified Cup series. The win was the eighth of the season at Grandview for the 2010 NASCAR Whelen All American Series Modified champion. Ron Kline drove to his fifth NASCAR Late Model win of the season and Ben Murphy was tops in the Sidewinder feature race.

September 4, 2010 Video Highlights

Order the complete night of racing on DVD from the GSP Shop or get it at the track!

358 Modifieds Feature Highlights

Late Models Feature Highlights

Sidewinder Sprints Feature Highlights

“We are putting this car under wraps until the BPG Freedom 76 (the $20,000 to win classic coming up on September 18th),” said Howard. “The car was a little loose tonight but the team is really clicking.” The BPG Racing sponsored team will bring out another winning car that they have sitting in the shop for next Saturday night’s 358 Modified racing which will close out the point season. Fred Woodward represented the American Racer Cup in congratulating Howard on his rich victory.

Cliff Quinn set the pace early in the 30-lap Modified feature with Glenn Owens able to take the lead on a restart after a caution. Duane Howard, the Oley based racer, came from 16th starting spot and threaded the needle to get between two frontrunners to take the lead on the 13th lap. Once in front Howard built up a huge lead over the field until a three car accident on the 23rd lap closed the field up behind him. Howard pulled away from the field on the restart and was able to do the same thing after a multi car accident on the 28th lap brought out caution.

At the finish Howard had a comfortable lead over Ryan Godown (Ringoes, NJ) who had his hands full holding off eight time track champion Jeff Strunk (Bechtelsville) who finished third. Craig VonDohren (Boyertown) came from 22nd spot to finish fourth. If he had been able to move up two more spots he would have tied Howard for the $10,000. Fifth was earned by Kevin Hirthler (Boyertown).

It took a couple spins before the first lap of the 20-lap Late Model feature could be completed. Doug Walton led the field on the first lap and continued to be the pacesetter right up to the 12th lap when Ron Kline was able to charge to the front. A multi car accident on the 13th lap brought out a red flag stopping the race but no one was injured.

On the restart Kline had Wayne Pfeil Jr. chasing him and at the finish it was Kline (Salford) just a few car lengths in front to take his fifth win of the season. Pfeil (Mohnton) finished a strong second followed by Chuck Schutz (Pottstown), point leader Brian Shuey (Shoemakersville) and Doug Walton (Spring City).

The 20-lap feature for the Sidewinder Sprints saw Rich Halter lead the first 12 laps before Ben Murphy was able get by for the lead. Once in front Murphy was able to hold the top spot until the checkered flag was display giving the Mooresville, NC racer his fifth win of the season. Second spot went to Joe Robertson followed by Mike Kiser, Alex Schanz and point leader Mark Strickler.

Qualifying heat races for the NASCAR 358 Modifieds were won by Todd Marburger, Ron Seltman, Kyle Follweiler and Glenn Owens with the Consolation race wins earned by Troy Wink and Craig VonDohren. In the Late Model qualifiers win were taken by Ron Kline and Bill Henning with the Cash Dash, run in memory of Lori Wentz, being won by Henning. The Sidewinder Sprint qualifiers went to Rich Halter and Gary Funck.
NASCAR 30-LAP 358 MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Duane Howard 2, Ryan Godown 3. Jeff Strunk 4. Craig VonDohren 5. Kevin Hirthler 6. Mike Gular 7. Ron Seltman 8, Kyle Follweiler 9. Shawn Reimert 10. Todd Marburger 11. Addison Meitzler 12. Glenn Owens 13. Cliff Quinn 14. Terry Meitzler 15. Don Norris Jr. 16. Doug Manmiller 17. Billy Pauch Jr. 18. Meme DeSantis 19. Ryan Grim 20. John Willman 21. Jon Kellner Jr. 22. Jason Hamilton 23. Jason Smythe 24. Brad Bright bill (Balance of field did not finish) 25. Brad Missimer 26. Troy Wink 27. Jordan Umbenhauer 28. Todd Smith 29. Jon Kellner Sr. 30. Ray Swinehart 31. Kevin Albert Jr.

NASCAR 20-LAP LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Ron Kline 2. Wayne Pfeil Jr. 3. Chuck Schutz 4. Brian Shuey 5. Doug Walton 6. Randy Stoudt 7. Bill Henning 8. John Giesler 9. Jamie Undercoffler 10. Mike Kellner 11. Dirk Rimrott (Balance of field did not finish) 12. T.J. Mayberry 13. Rick Todorow 14. Danny Snyder 15. John Favinger 16. Kurt Spotts

SIDEWINDER SPRINTS FEATURE: 1. Ben Murphy 2. Joe Robertson 3. Mike Kiser 4. Alex Schanz 5. Mark Strickler 6. Rich Halter 7. Reed Salony 8. Mikwe Zielonis 9. Tracy Readinger 10. Rohan Beasley 11. Keith Ford 12. Jason Stahl 13. Christian Wright 14. Jason Eisenhart 15. Gary Funck 16. Jerry Strausbaugh 17. Tyler Walton 18. D.J. Montgomery