GSP Video

New Egypt Speedway – August 30, 2011


(Event Press Release) NEW EGYPT, NJ – Rain, hail, sleet and snow will not stop the mailman and Hurricane Irene was not about to stop the first presentation of the “JERSEY RUSH” Tuesday night at the New Egypt Speedway.

The event battled plenty of rain, damaging high winds and even a power outage at the track, but when it was all said and done, JJ Grasso of Pedricktown, NJ lived up to his “Jersey Jet” name to win the 30 lap, $5,000 to win JERSEY RUSH.

August 30, 2011 Video Highlights

Order the complete night of racing on DVD from the GSP Shop

410 Sprint Car Feature Highlights

Big Block Modifieds Feature Highlights

Grasso wrestled the lead from Mark Smith on lap thirteen and survived two restarts to score his first ever 410 sprint car victory. Grasso was driving the John PInter owned sprinter and for Grasso, it was just his second time driving a 410 sprinter. In the thirty lap modified feature, Billy Pauch was the winner. Pauch started deep in the pack and took the lead on lap nineteen for David Van Horn. Pauch earned $3,000 for the victory in the feature event that ran non-stop. The checker flag in the modified feature fell at 10 PM, allowing the big crowd ample time to visit their favorite drivers in the pit area.

The JERSEY RUSH was a co-promotion between Lenny Sammons, his sons Danny and Davey and special events organizer Bob Miller. The show was viewed as a big success as a result of the large crowd on hand, outstanding dust-free track conditions and an efficiently well run program thanks the officials and staff of the New Egypt Speedway.

In the 410 sprint time trials, Lance Dewease set a new one lap track record of 14.193 for the recently re-configured “D”shaped New Egypt Speedway. Sprint heat race winners were Davey Sammons, Daryn Pittman and Rick Lafferty. In the big block modifieds, heats were won by Dave Hunt, David Van Horn and Billy Pauch as Stan Frankenfield won the modified consolation.

In the 30 lap JERSEY RUSH for sprint cars, Mark Smith led the field down for the green flag in the feature event. Smith set the pace with JJ Grasso in the chase followed by Davey Sammons, Lance Dewease and Rick Lafferty. By lap seven, Smith had a six car length lead over Grasso as all eyes were on Daryn Pittman who now moved into fifth.

On lap night, Grasso took a run at the lead, pulling within inches of Smith and as the field passed the line on lap nine. The yellow was then displayed for Davey Sammons who tagged the inside guardrail and spun in turn four as Shane Stewart spun to avoid contact.

When green flag racing resumed, Mark Smith continued to set the pace with Grasso about three car lengths behind as Lance Dewease and Daryn Pittman tried to reel in the top two. The move of the race came on lap fourteen when Grasso made the pass around Mark Smith for the lead. As the field passed for the halfway mark, Grasso was the leader followed by Mark Smith, Pittman, Dewease and Rick Lafferty.

The second yellow flag of the race was displayed on lap sixteen for Dave Wilson and Robbie Stillwaggon who spun in turn four. The restart saw Grasso get a good jump on the field, pulling a six car length lead by lap seventeen. On lap nineteen, the yellow was displayed, this time for Jim Campbell.

On the restart, Mark Smith managed to stay closer to Grasso with an attempt to regain the lost position and by the way, Daryn Pittman was now charging after the leaders followed by Dewease and Fred Rahmer now in the top five.

Grasso maintained a several car length lead by now Smith had to stop challenging for the lead and start defending his runner-up spot from Daryn Pittman. It was a two car race for second with Smith and Pittman battling for the final five laps.

With the checker flag waiving, Grasso scored an impressive win over Mark Smith, Daryn Pittman, Lance Dewease and Fred Rahmer.

In the thirty lap modified feature, David Van Horn was the early race leader with Jimmy Blewett in the chase along with Tim Tanner Jr. The side-by-side battles where taking place everywhere on the finely prepared track surface. On lap ten, Tanner made a bid for the lead, but settled back into the runner-up spot. Blewett ran in third with Jeff Strunk now joining the party in fourth with Jimmy Horton fifth. By lap fourteen, Blewett moved into second on lap fourteen and made his bid to reel in the leader.

At the halfway point of the race, Van Horn was running a brilliant race with Blewett second and out of nowhere, Billy Pauch moved into the picture racing third with Tanner and Strunk making up the top five. On lap sixteen, Pauch moved into second and set out to chase down the leader.

By lap nineteen, Pauch was the leader with Van Horn now in second followed by Blewett, Strunk and Horton.. With just five laps remaining, Jeff Strunk pass Blewett and took over the third position. Pauch had a solid lead but there was still plenty of passing within the rest of the field. On the final lap, Jimmy Horton passed Jimmy Blewett to finish fourth with Blewett fifth. Pauch took the win with Van Horn second and Jeff Strunk third.

THE JERSEY RUSH 410 SPRINT FEATURE FINISH: JJ Grasso, Mark Smith, Daryn Pittman, Lance Dewease, Fred Rahmer, Rick Lafferty, Chad Layton, Todd Shaffer, Davey Sammons, Curt Michael, Mark Bitner, Shane Stewart, Jeff Geiges, Brent Marks, Robbie Stillwaggon, Dave Wilson, Jon Brennfleck, Jimmy Campbell, Frank Cozze, Greg Hodnett, Steve Petry, Billy Pauch

THE JERSEY RUSH BIG BLOCK MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH: Billy Pauch, David Van Horn, Jeff Strunk, Jimmy Horton, Jimmy Blewett, Tim Tanner Jr., Danny Johnson, Billy Pauch Jr., Mike Iles, Ryan Godown, Ryan Watt, Richie Pratt Jr., Rick Laubach, Dominick Buffalino, Tommy Scheetz, Ron John Kozon, Stan Frankenfield, Robbie Nixon, Steve Haggan, Randy Laird, Gary Butler, Mike Frantz, Brad Freeman, Bob Lineman, Dave Hunt