GSP Video

Big Diamond Speedway – June 8, 2012


Chris Windom of Canton, IL led all of the 30 laps of the AMSOIL National USAC Sprint Car race at the Big Diamond Speedway to capture his first win of the 2012 campaign. 2011 Big Diamond Track Champion, Jeff Strunk raced to his first win of the 2012 season while Jim Kost earned his second win of the season in the Wooden Keg Tavern Roadrunner feature.

June 8, 2012 Video Highlights

Order the complete night of racing on DVD from the GSP Shop or get it at the track!

USAC Sprint Car Feature Highlights

358 Modified Feature Highlights

Roadrunners Feature Highlights

Windom moved into the lead from his fifth place start on lap one and raced to the win in thirty nonstop laps that took just over eight and half minutes to complete. Bryan Clauson, fresh off his Indianapolis 500 start, had dominated the wingless USAC Sprints during their Eastern Storm competition, picking up two wins earlier in the week but it was all Windom on Friday night at Big Diamond.

Tracy Hines had his best showing of the week to finish second. Hines appeared to be closing on the leader on several occasions but had his hands full when he lost a right front torsion bar on his MP Environmental Services #4. Chase Stockton raced to a career best third place finish. Damion Gardner finished fourth with Levi Jones finishing fifth in his Tony Stewart owned entry, moving him into the lead of the USAC points chase.

After weeks of getting close but not being able to close the deal, Jeff Strunk drove the Hansell #357 into Victory Lane for his first win of season.

Ricky Yetter was the early race leader until the caution flew on lap three. When green flag racing resumed, Yetter lost the handle on his Stellar Construction #5 between turns one and two as the field did a tremendous job of getting by without further incident.

Danny Hieber inherited the lead on the restart but it was the Temple Tornado, Meme DeSantis who took control. DeSantis lead through lap twenty-one when the caution flew for the slowing car of Harry Landis. Strunk made his move to take the lead from DeSantis following the restart as Duane Howard, Ray Swinehart and Craig VonDohren followed.

The thirty lap distance created the opportunity for more racing action as Strunk maintained the lead while a battle waged between Howard and VonDohren for second. VonDohren took over the runner-up spot for two laps before Howard regained second with just three laps remaining. As Strunk raced under the checkered flag for the win, VonDohren bested Howard for second. Howard had to settle for third while Colt Harris had a strong run to finish fourth ahead of DeSantis.

In Wooden Keg Tavern Roadrunner competition, Jim Kost picked up his second win of the season. Kost lost the race lead to Christian Donati for laps three and four but regained the lead on lap five and never looked back. Joey Brennan trailed Kost across the line for second as Chip Kennedy finished third ahead of Terry Kramer, Jr. and Kyle Killian.

Levi Jones set fast time in the USAC Sprints with a new Big Diamond track record. Hines, Coleman Gulick and Dave Darland were the winners of the qualifying heats.

Modified heats were won by Yetter, Harris and Hieber. Jon Schlauch and Donati were the heat winners in the Roadrunner competition.

USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Feature: (30 laps) 1. Chris Windom, 2. Tracy Hines, 3. Chase Stockton, 4. Damion Gardner, 5. Levi Jones, 6. Bryan Clauson, 7. Jon Stanbrough, 8. Darren Hagen, 9. Jerry Coons, Jr., 10. Dave Darland, 11. Bobby East, 12. Coleman Gulick, 13. C.J. Leary, 14. Hunter Schuerenberg, 15. Jonathan Hendrick, 16. Mark Smith, 17. Billy Pauch, Jr., 18. Mark Bitner, 19. Joey Biasi, 20. Mike Gular, 21. Robert Ballou, 22. Kevin Thomas, Jr. 8:36.25

Station House 358 Modified Feature (30 laps)
1. Jeff Strunk 2. Craig VonDohren 3. Duane Howard 4. Colt Harris 5. Meme DeSantis 6. Ray Swinehart 7. Kevin Albert, Jr. 8. Rick Laubach 9. Glenn Strunk 10. Gary Hager 11. Dan Hineline 12. Justin Grim 13. Dale Hartz 14. Shawn Fitzpatrick 15. Blaine Bracelin 16. Harry Landis 17. Ron Haring, Jr. 18. Doug Manmiller 19. Danny Hieber 20. Neal Williams 21. Andy Burkhart 22. Mike Mammana 23. John Willman 24. Brad Arnold 25. Brian Houseknecht 26. Ricky Yetter 27. Keith Hoffman

Wooden Keg Tavern Roadrunners – 20 laps
1. Jim Kost 2. Joey Brennan 3. Chip Kennedy 4. Terry Kramer, Jr. 5. Kyle Killian 6. TJ Fitzpatrick 7. Jon Schlauch 8. Brian Buchinski 9. Terry Kennedy 10. Glenn Rowan 11. Christian Donatti