GSP Video

Grandview Speedway – June 5, 2012


(Event Press Release) During the month of May, 22 year old Bryan Clauson of Noblesville, Indiana dedicated his efforts to making the starting field in the 2012 running of the Indianapolis 500.

After making that historic start in the 500, Clauson went back on the road with USAC and the AMSOIL National Non-Wing Sprint Series and made the first race of the 6th Annual Eastern Storm, opening at the Grandview Speedway. Clauson was one of nine drivers who broke the track record during the CnB Mushroom Time Trials.

June 5, 2012 Video Highlights

Order the complete race night DVD at the GSP Shop or get it at the track!

USAC Sprint Car Feature Highlights

ARDC Midget Feature Highlights

Fast time of the night was Kevin Thomas with a time of 13.360. In the 40 lap Jesse Hockett Classic, Clauson took the lead on lap twenty and went on to score the victory, worth $6,000. Also on the program were the ARDC Midgets and Alex Bright was the winner in their feature event.

The NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series went against the odds of the weather forecast, and after a one hour rain delay, the show did go on. A steady rain began to fall during warm-ups and lasted at least thirty minutes. After about a thirty-minute window for track prep, the lightning fast Grandview Speedway saw the USAC sprints return to the track for warm-ups and time trials.

The USAC Non-wing sprints ran three qualifying heats with victories going to Mark Bitner, Tracy Hines and Mark Smith. For the ARDC Midgets, heat winners include Alex Bright, Trevor Kobylarz and Mark Gilmore as Jerry Coons won the “B” main for ARDC.

In the 40 lap Jesse Hockett Classic, Jerry Coons set the immediate pace at the drop of the green flag. As the field was completing lap two, Coleman Gullick took a wild ride flipping violently down the backstretch then breaking through one of the billboards and exiting the speedway, out of sight of the crowd. Gullick’s walked away uninjured and a delay of forty-five minutes was required to safely bring the damaged sprint car trackside and return it to the pits.

On the restart, Coons remained the pace setter with Levi Jones in the chase followed by Chris Windom. Following in the top five were Bryan Clauson and Kevin Thomas. Levi Jones moved into second and went to work on reeling in the leader with Chris Windom in the chase. On lap seventeen, a three car tangle brought out the caution for the final time. The restart was wild as Clauson, who was running third passed Levi Jones and Jerry Coon for the lead. Kevin Thomas remained in the thick of the battle, holding down second followed by Coons.

In the closing laps, Levi Jones entered a battle for second with Thomas and on the final lap, Jones took over the runner-up spot.

Clauson took the win over Levi Jones, Kevin Thomas, Chris Windom and Jerry Coons.

In the ARDC midget feature, Alex Bright was the winner over Ryan Watt and Nick Wean. Bright took the lead on lap six from Steven Drevicki. The crash marred feature was scheduled to go 20 laps but was cut short to sixteen when Kerry Becker flipped in turn four displaying the red flag. Putting on a real show was Bruce and Steven Buckwalter who were charging to the front after going to the rear earlier in the event. Bruce Buckwalter finished fourth with Steven Buckwalter rounding out the top five.

For Alex Bright of Collegeville, PA, it was his first ARDC win of the season and his third career win with ARDC.

JESSE HOCKETT CLASSIC 40 LAPS- – – #7 Bryan Clauson, #20 Levi Jones, #9k Kevin Thomas, #5 Chris Windom, #71p Jerry Coons, #69 Darren Hagen, #11 Dave Darland, #35 Hunter Schurenberg, #81 Robert Ballou, #21x Jon Stanbrough, #4 Tracy Hines, #2b Bobby East, #32 Chase Stockon, #1m Mark Smith, #1B Joey Biasi, #175 Kyle Moody, #8 Mike Gular, #71 Damion Gardner, #68 Jonathan Hendrick, #30 CJ Leary, #15 Mark Bitner, #14 Coleman Gullick.

ARDC Midget Feature- – – -#77 Alex Bright, #18 Ryan Watt, #78 Nick Wean, #83 Bruce Buckwalter, Jr. #0 Steven Buckwalter, #19 Steven Drevicki, #54 Jerry Coons, Jr., #07 Shawn Jackson, #56 Dave Ely, #11 Eric Heydenrich, #46 Brett Arndt, #41 Mike Miller, #88 Brenden Bright, #10 Mike Gilmore, #49 Trevor Kobylarz, #16 Dave Shirk, #61 Parker Evans, #52 Tim Buckwalter, #6 Dusty Heistand, #14 Carey Becker, #55 Steve Craig, #9 Andrew Hannula, #4 Shane Penny, #34 Kyle Lick, #1 Drew Heistand, #5 PJ Gargiulo.