GSP Video

Lincoln Speedway – June 20, 2012


(Event Press Release) With near perfect track conditions throughout the night, Rochester, NY modified star Danny Johnson dazzled the crowd with a late race pursuit and pass on Jimmy Phelps to win the 60 lap Pioneer Pole Buildings ROC Modified feature event Wednesday night at the Lincoln Speedway. Johnson took the lead from Phelps on lap forty-eight, then held off several late race challenges to take the victory worth $5,000. The MACH 1 Chassis 25 lap sprint feature saw Daryn Pittman lead wire-to-wire but had to hold off several challenges from runner-up Aaron Ott to collect the $2,500 payday.

June 20, 2012 Video Highlights

Order the complete race night DVD at the GSP Shop

RoC Modified Battle at Lincoln Feature Highlights

MACH 1 Chassis 358/360 Sprint Feature Highlights

Modified heat race winners were Danny Johnson, Jimmy Phelps and Jimmy Horton.

In the 60 lap PPB Race of Champions feature event, defending winner Ryan Godown set the early pace. By lap five, Phelps was battling Godown for the lead as Pat Ward followed in third. On lap nine, Phelps took the lead and just two laps later, Ward moved into second. Stewart Friesen stopped in turn four on lap fourteen, displaying the caution flag. On the restart, Phelps again set the pace with the Doctor Danny Johnson now second. Godown battled back and regained second on lap sixteen.

Phelps continued to set a commanding pace, then on lap twenty-seven, Johnson moved into second with Godown third, Jimmy Horton fourth and Craig VonDohren fifth.

As the race progressed, Johnson was reeling in the leader and lapped traffic was going to play a part. On lap forty, Johnson was in a position to take the lead, but then settled back in second. Phelps managed to gain several car lengths over Johnson but on lap forty-six, Doctor Danny was challenging for the lead once again. After a two lap side by side battle, Johnson took the lead on lap forty eight. Phelps followed in second with Godown third, Horton fourth and VonDohren fifth.

The battle wore on and now Phelps was challenging Johnson for the lead as Godown began to reel in the front runners. On lap fifty-seven, Phelps made one last ditch attempt to take the lead, but Johnson was up to the challenge and led the final three laps to earn the win worth $5,000. Phelps finished second with Godown third, Jimmy Horton fourth and Craig VonDohren fifth.

In the MACH 1 Chassis 358/360 Sprints, heats were won by Chad Trout, Daryn Pittman and Aaron as Pat Cannon won the “B” Main after flipping in the first heat race.

When the green flag feel to start the 25 lap MACH 1 Chassis sprint feature, Pittman wasted no time setting a commanding lead. Aaron Ott followed in second and on lap six, he made a serious challenge for the lead, but each time, Pittman prevailed on top. The feature went thirteen laps caution free with Scott Fisher coming to a stop, displaying the yellow flag.

On the restart, Pittman retained solid control of the lead but Ott was using the outside lane to offer up a bid for the lead. Pittman remained in the lead followed by Ott, TJ Stutts, Jacob Allan and Mark Smith.

With the checker flag waiving, Daryn Pittman took the win in convincing style over Aaron Ott, TJ Stutts, Mark Smith and Niki Young.

Pioneer Pole Buildings 60 lap ROC Modified Finish: Danny Johnson, Jimmy Phelps, Ryan Godown, Jimmy Horton, Craig VonDohren, Pat Ward, Billy Decker, Duane Howard, Rick Laubach, Kevin Albert, Stewart Friesen, Ryan Watt, Gary Wagner Jr., Doug Manmiller, Billy Pauch, John Willman, MeMe DeSantis, Kevin Brady. Ed and Laurie Ackerman Hard Charger Award $300 Billy Decker Advanced 11 spots.

MACH 1 Chassis 25 lap Sprint Finish: Daryn Pittman, Aaron Ott, TJ Stutts, Mark Smith, Niki Young, Jacob Allan, Tim Wagaman, Jimmy Siegel, Adrian Shaffer, Chad Trout, Pat Cannon, Jessica Zemken, Tyler Ross, Davey Franek, Tim Kelly, Billy Pauch Jr., Nathan Berwager, Steve Collins, Scott Fisher, Ryan Wilson, Tim Berkheimer, Gerard McIntyre, JJ Grasso, Kramer Williamson. DNQ- Duane Mausteller,Rodney Westhafer, Johnny
Reppert, Scott Lutz.