GSP Video

Grandview Speedway – August 4, 2012


(Track Press Release) BECHTELSVILLE, PA – “It has been a while since I have been here,” said Ray Swinehart in victory lane as he celebrated his Saturday night win in the WNPV-1440AM NASCAR 358 Modified feature race at Grandview Speedway. It was the first win at the Bechtelsville clay oval for the past track champion since May, 2009.

August 4, 2012 Video Highlights

Order the complete race night DVD at the GSP Shop or get it at the track!

NASCAR 358 Modified Feature Highlights

NASCAR Sportsman Feature Highlights

NASCAR Late Model Feature Highlights

Brad Brightbill was able to survive the crash marred 25-lap feature for the Sportsman to get his second win of the season while Chuck Schutz moved closer to his sixth championship by winning his second feature of the season with the NASCAR Late Models.

Eric Biehn led the 29-car starting field to the green and set the pace for the first lap of the NASCAR 358 Modified feature race. Former URC sprint car racer Jason Clauss charged to the front on the second lap and set the pace for the first half of the 30-lap main event. Just after the halfway mark Swinehart was able to put his Graber Lettering No. 33 in front of the field and that is where the Perkiomenville racing veteran stayed winning by a comfortable margin. Second spot was taken by young Todd Smith (Hatfield) for his best effort of the season. Meme DeSantis (Temple) came from 12th to grab a third place finish while six time track champion Craig VonDohren (Pottstown), involved in an early race incident, came from 24th starting spot to grab fourth and Brad Missimer (Bechtelsville) rounded out the top five.

Swinehart’s win made him the seventh different 358 Modified feature winner of the season.

NASCAR 358 Modified point leader Duane Howard was involved in a multi car accident early in the feature race and was able to charge from the back of the field to gain a sixth place finish and hold on to his top point position.

Multi time champion John Giesler was the early leader in the 20-lap Late Model feature race with Wayne Pfeil taking over the top position on the third circuit after a heated battle with Giesler. Once in front Pfeil looked as if he would be able to add another win to his career resume but with less than five laps to go Chuck Schutz was able to take the top spot, having dueled with Pfeil for several laps, after coming from 11th spot. Once in front Schutz (Pottstown) drove the Jesse Baro Trucking/BPG Racing No.1 to his second win of the season increasing his lead in the chase for his sixth Late Model point championship. Second went to Wayne Pfeil (Mohnton). Kory Fleming (Milford, NJ) had an impressive third place finish followed by rookie racer Steve Nederostek (Walnutport) and Ron Kline (Salford).

The Late Model feature leader was able to pick up $14.40 for each lap lead courtesy of Linda and Joe Moskal of WNPV-1440 AM radio.

Sportsman veteran Ryan Beltz set the pace for the four early laps of the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature race that was marred by several accidents including two incidents that brought out red flags stopping the race. Steve Searock went to the front of the field on the 5th lap and Brad Brightbill was able to grab the number one position on the 8th lap with his Roadrunner Racing Fuels No. 19 and lead the rest of the way. Brightbill (Sinking Spring) earned his second win of the season beating Ryan Beltz (Harleysville) to the finish line. Kyle Borror (Minersville) charged to a third place finish followed by new Sportsman point leader Jared Umbenhauer (Richland) and lady racer Kaitie McCardle (Honey Brook).

Qualifying heat races for the Late Models, each 8 laps, were won by Wayne Pfeil and Bill Henning. In the Sportsman qualifiers, each 8 laps, the wins went to Steve Searock, Brad Brightbill and Ryan Beltz. And in the 358 Modified qualifying races, each 12 laps, were won by Ray Swinehart, Mike Gular, Jason Clauss and Todd Smith while the two 10-lap consolation races had Addison Meitzler and Kyle Follweiler as the winners.

T.P. Trailers of Limerick, PA posted a $250 bonus for the NASCAR 358 Modified feature winner while $100 went to the Sportsman and Late Model winners. Texas Roadhouse Restaurant of Wyomissing, PA gave two winners to each feature winner while Cargo Trailer Sales of Lansdale, PA had $50 gift certificates for one chosen racer in each of the three divisions. Dan’s Deli of Boyertown presented hoagies to the halfway leader in each feature. The Bobby Gunther Walsh & Sponsors Hard Charger Award in the Modified feature went to Craig VonDohren who gained 21 positions. Chuck Schutz earned the Salvage Transport Hard Charger Award for moving up 9 positions, 10th to 1st, in the Late Model. Feature winner Brad Brightbill gained 9 positions to win the Searock Lawn Service Hard Charger Award.


WNPV-1440 AM RADIO NASCAR 358 MODIFIED FEATURE, 30 LAPS:1. Ray Swinehart 2. Todd Smith 3. Meme DeSantis 4. Craig VonDohren 5. Brad Missimer 6. Duane Howard 7. Doug Manmiller 8. Mike Gular 9. Dan Waisempacher 10. Jeff Strunk 11.Shawn Reimert 12. Kevin Hirthler 13. Jon Kellner Sr. 14. Nate Christman 15. Jason Clauss 16. Eric Biehn 17. Brad Grim 18. Kyle Follweiler 19. Addison Meitzler 20. Kyle Weiss 21. Jordan Umbenhauer 22. Michael Weinert 23. Cliff Quinn 24. Tommy Scheetz III 25. John Willman 26. Chris Esposito 27. Carroll Hine III 28. Jarrad Miller 29. John Kellner Jr.

WNPV-1440 AM RADIO NASCAR LATE MODEL FEATURE, 20 LAPS: 1. Chuck Schutz 2. Wayne Pfeil 3. Kory Fleming 4. Steve Nederostek 5. Ron Kline 6. Danny Snyder 7. Jason Miller 8. Lou Egrie Sr. 9. John Giesler 10. Steve Todorow 11. Rick Todorow 12. David Ogin 13. Steve Wilson 14. Buddy Mertz 15. Mike Kellner 16. Bill Henning 17. Andy Ressler 18. Drew Ressler

WNPV-1440 AM RADIO NASCAR SPORTSMAN FEATURE, 25 LAPS: 1. Brad Brightbill 2. Ryan Beltz 3. Kyle Borror 4. Jared Umbenhauer 5. Kaitie McCardle 6. Paul Kline 7. Joe Funk 8. Rocco Infante 9. Dave Dissinger 10. Brian Hirthler 11. Bobby Lilick (finished 7th but moved back 4 spots for rule infraction), 12. Tim Apgar 13. Erik Renninger 14. Mike Stringer 15. Johnny Cornell III 16. Steve Searock 17. John Quinn 18. Kirby Schlappich 19. Josh Generella 20. Mark Biehm 21. Ryan Lilick 22. John Kovatch IV 23. Craig Whitmoyer 24. Kevin Beach 25. Guy Germano 26. Terry Hafer