GSP Video

Grandview Speedway – June 15, 2013

Grandview Tidbits

  • A strong crowd came out to see the URC sprint cars, NASCAR 358 modifieds and vintage cars in action on Saturday night. Both the sprints and modifieds delivered with exciting last lap battles to the finish.
  • Defending series champion Robbie Stillwaggon passed Troy Betts in turn 1 on the final lap to pick up another win on the URC trail.
  • A wild double flip in the third URC heat sent the top wing off Kevin Darling’s car high into into the air and landed in a tree outside turn 1.
  • Meme DeSantis win in the 358 modified feature denied Craig Von Dohren his 300th career win and broke Duane Howard’s five race winning streak.
  • Former Grandview Late Model champion Ronnie Peck dominated the vintage car feature from start to finish.

June 15, 2013 Video Highlights

Order the complete night of racing on DVD from the GSP Shop or get it at the track!

Joey Biasi/Kevin Darling URC Heat Race Double Flip/Wing in a Tree

URC Sprint Car Feature Highlights

358 Modified Feature Highlights

Vintage Car Highlights


(Track Press Release) BECHTELSVILLE, PA – Veteran dirt track modified racer Meme DeSantis was able to snap the winning streak, five modified feature wins in a row for Duane Howard, picking up his second win of the season in the 30-lap NASCAR 358 Modified race at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. Robbie Stillwaggon topped the 24-car starting field in the 25-lap Rislone URC sprint feature and Ronnie Peck was first across the finish line in the 15-lap Blast from the Past Vintage car race.

Young Jon Kellner Jr. set the early pace for the 29-car starting field in the 30-lap 358 Modified feature race with recent Drexel University graduate Todd Smith in second spot. At five laps a two car tangle in turn 1 brought out the caution closed up the field behind the leader. Two laps later Don Norris Jr. had his Limerick Diner No. 976 turned around along with Jarrad Miller bringing out another caution. Again the field closing up on the leader.
At 10-laps it was still young Kellner and his Power Washer No. 67 in front with Chris Esposito and Jon Kellner Sr. close behind.

With half the race in the record book Kellner Sr. was able put his Vince’s Towing No. 41 in front of his son now in second and Meme DeSantis coming from 13th starting spot now in third.

It took until the 24th lap, on a restart after a caution for a stopped Mike Gular on the backstretch that brought out a caution, for DeSantis to charge to the front coming off the fourth turn.

Craig VonDohren, coming from 16th starting spot, charged up through the field to challenge DeSantis in the closing laps and on the final lap made a bold move to try to squeeze under the leader in the first turn but DeSantis was having none of that and closed the door on him. VonDohren was forced to settle for his third straight second place finish.

At the checkered flag it was DeSantis wheeling the’s Wings & Things No.88D to victory. The Temple racer had just a narrow margin over Craig VonDohren (Oley). Third spot was earned by Jon Kellner Sr. (Lansdale) followed by Frank Cozze (Wind Gap) and Jeff Strunk (Pottstown).

In victory lane DeSantis told victory lane announcer “Whippy” that he had given a couple away in recent weeks and he was not going to give this one away.

Duane Howard, who had a five race win streak going into the Saturday night program, was never a factor and had to settle for 11th after starting 23rd in the feature as a result of qualifying through a consolation race.

Howard does maintain his point lead by a very narrow margin, just 19 points, over six time track champion Craig VonDohren.

Johnathan Swanson lead the field to the green flag and set the pace for the first five laps of the 25-lap Rislone URC sprint feature. At the six lap mark Troy Betts used the outside groove to charge to the front of the 24-car field. Betts was able to hold off challenges from Josh Weller from the 8th through the 19th lap and looked like he was going to be able to hold off the challenge from defending URC champion Robbie Stillwaggon with the battle starting on the 20th lap.

Betts and Stillwaggon put on a fan pleasing battle with Betts holding the top spot until the final lap when Stillwaggon, going for his second win of the season with the traveling sprint car organization, charged past the leader coming off the second turn. Betts came back strong trying to reclaim his lead in the final turn of the 25-lapper but had to settle for second.

Stillwaggon (Burlington, NJ) drove the Fred Kennedy owned Quality Auto Body No. 89 to the victory with Troy Betts (New Castle, DE) claiming second. Third spot went to Josh Weller (Mertztown) followed by Hall of Fame sprint racer Kramer Williamson (Palmyra, PA) and Brain Carber (Piperville, PA)

Stillwaggon thanked his family and sponsors in victory lane saying the car worked anywhere he put it the track to claim the win.

The Blast from the Past Vintage car feature, a 15 lapper, saw Ronnie Peck (Pottstown) charge in front of the starting field and never look back as he easily won the feature race. His teammate Jim Baker, a long time standout in area racing, finished second with both of them appearing in victory lane as Peck was given credit for the A Class victory and Baker was tops in the B Class. Thirds spot went to Vince Gagliardo followed by Dave Smith and Kevin Dries.

Qualifying heat races, each 12 laps, for the NASCAR 358 modifieds were won by Ryan Grim, Ron Seltman, Jeff Strunk and Mike Gular. The two 10-lap consolation races for the modifieds were won by Doug Manmiller and Ryan Godown. The 10-lap qualifiers for the Rislone URC sprint cars went to Johnathan Swanson, Steve Downs and Josh Weller. The single 8-lap heat race for the Vintage cars was won by former Grandview modified standout Ronnie Peck.

NASCAR 358 MODIFIED FEATURE – 30 LAPS: 1.Meme DeSantis 2. Craig VonDohren 3. Jon Kellner Sr. 4.Frank Cozze 5. Jeff Strunk 6. Jon Kellner Jr. 7.Terry Meitzler 8. Doug Manmiller 9. Chris Esposito 10. Ryan Grim 11. Duane Howard 12. Kyle Follweler 13. John Willman 14. Ryan Godown 15. Ron Seltman 16.Kevin Hirthler 17. Tim Buckwalter 18. Kyle Weiss 19. Nate Christman 20. Addison Meitzler 21. Jarrad Miller 22. Mike Kellner 23. Brian Houseknecht 24. Adny Ressler 25. Todd Smith 26. Mike Gular 27. Mike Laise 28. Don Norris Jr. 29. Jordan Umbenhauer

RISLONE URC SPRINT CAR FEATURE – 25 LAPS: 1. Robbie Stillwaggon 2. Dave Betts 3. Josh Weller 4. Kramer Williamson 5. Brian Garber 6. JJ Grasso 7. Chad Trout 8. Randy West 9. Davie Franek 10. Art Leidl 11. Johnathan Swanson 12. Dave Ely 13. Bryan Gohn 14. Tim Kelly 15. Kevin Darling 16. Jimmy Stitzel 17. Scott Lutz 18. Jimmy Reppert 19. Dan Mazy 20. Steve Downs 21. Mike Kostic 22. JR Berry 23. Ed Aikin 24. Keith Prutzman

BLAST FROM THE PAST VINTAGE CARS FEATURE – 15 LAPS: 1. Ronnie Peck 2. Jim Baker 3. Vince Gagliardo 4. Dave Smith 5. Kevin Dries 6. Kevin Kuser 7. Brian Gagliardo 8. Chick Kulp 9. Kevin Brandt 10. Jack Reifsnyder