GSP Video

Big Diamond Speedway – July 5, 2013

Big Diamond Tidbits

  • Meme DeSantis captured the 33rd edition of the Georgie Stevenson Memorial on Friday at Big Diamond. The 33 lap modified feature paid $3,000 to win.
  • Defending track champion Doug Hendricks led every lap Sportsman feature.
  • Jeremy Becker (roadrunners) and Richie Hitzler (600 modifieds) won shortened features as both races reached their respective time-limits.

July 5, 2013 Video Highlights

Order the complete night of racing on DVD from the GSP Shop or get it at the track!

358 Modified Feature Highlights

Roadrunner/xCel 600 Modified/Sportsman Feature Highlights


(Track Press Release) MINERSVILLE, PA – Add Georgie Stevenson Memorial winner to the list of accomplishments in the storied career of Meme Desantis.

Desantis took the lead from Doug Manmiller on lap #14 and never faltered, claiming his first ever Georgie Stevenson Memorial victory in front of a near capacity crowd Friday evening.

Doug Manmiller bolted into the lead from his pole starting spot, followed closely by second starting Billy Pauch Jr. Pauch Jr. retired early from the event, handing second place over to Desantis, who immediately started pressuring Manmiller using the extreme outside lane. Lap after lap, Desantis would pull even in the turns, only to have Manmiller inch ahead on the straightaways. The complexion of the race changed dramatically on lap #14 when Manmiller hooked bumpers while trying to negotiate a lapped car, slowing his momentum for just a moment. This slight hiccup allowed Desantis to overtake Manmiller for the lead, with Manmiller dropping all the way back to sixth. A huge pile up between turns one and two brought out the red flag on lap #16, as the track was completely blocked from the number of cars involved. Most of the involved cars were able to continue. On the restart, Desantis took the outside lane and continued to use the high groove to lead over now second place running Craig Von Dohren and Jeff Strunk in third. With less than five laps to go, the leaders entered lapped traffic, which allowed Von Dohren to pull within a car length or two of Desantis. Von Dohren was never really able to make a serious bid for the lead though, and Desantis crossed the stripe first for his first win of the season at Big Diamond and 26th of his career. Von Dohren continued his incredibly consistent season coming home in second. To date Von Dohren has finished in the top three in every feature event but one. Strunk held on for third, followed by Manmiller and Ray Swinehart. Ricky Yetter, Tim Buckwalter, Kevin Smith, Dale Hartz, and Andy Burkhart rounded out the top ten. Heat races for the 30 ZY Pyrotechnics 358 Modifieds on hand were won by Smith, Hartz, and Yetter. Mike Mamanna won the consolation event.

In the 20 lap USS Achey Sportsman feature, defending point champion Doug Hendricks took the lead from his pole starting position and was never really challenged, leading all 20 laps to score his first win of the season. Billy Moyer Jr. was able to nip Shawn Light at the line for second, with Light finishing a season best third. Kevin Beach Jr. was forth followed by Mike Lisowski. Joe Mooney, Ray Woodall Jr., Corey Renninger, Robin Shultz, and Tim Fitzpatrick rounded out the top ten. Heat races were won by Moyer and Woodall.

Jeremy Becker scored his second win of the season in the Savage 61 Roadrunners after a race long battle with Glenn “Buckshot” Rowan, and Chris Holland. As is the norm with the Roadrunner division, the outcome was never decided until the final turn, with Becker crossing the line barely a car length ahead of Holland, who just inched out Rowan for second. Kyle Killian came from 11th starting spot to finish forth, followed by Ricky Bender, making his first start of the season. Sixth thru tenth were Tim Spesak, Terry Kramer Jr. , John Whyne, Tim Fitzpatrick Jr., and Jim Kost. Heat races were won by Shon Elk and Marc Berzowski.

Richie Hitzler won the time shortened XCEL 600 Modified feature.

A huge fireworks display was presented during intermission to the delight of the crowd on hand.

Racing returns to Big Diamond this coming Friday, July 12th, with the 358 Modifieds, Sportsman, and Roadrunners presented during the first ever FANdemonium event. General admission for FANdemonium is free. That’s right – free. Everyone who attends FANdemonium will be admitted to the grandstand area free of charge. There will be giveaways for the fans, autographs from the drivers, and much, much more. Grab your friends, neighbors, and anyone else you know and being them next Friday to this unprecedented event. Gates open at 5:00 PM and first heat hits the track at 8:15 PM.

In conjunction with FANdemonium, July 12th will also be the Hillside SPCA Furry Friends Friday! They will have items for purchase and games to play at FANdemonium, with all proceed going to support our Furry Friends. There will also be a helmet drive at intermission for the SPCA.

Big Diamond Speedway Results – 7/5/2013

358 Modified Georgie Stevenson Memorial 1) Meme Desantis ($3,300) 2) Craig Von Dohren 3) Jeff Strunk 4) Doug Manmiller 5) Ray Swinehart 6) Ricky Yetter 7) Tim Buckwalter Kevin Smith 9) Dale Hartz 10) Andy Burkhart 11) Bobby Gunther Walsh 12) Jim Bobbitt Jr. 13) Kevin Albert Jr. 14) Dan Hineline 15) John Willman 16) Shawn Fitzpatrick 17) Nick Desantis 18) Kyle Borror 19) Craig Whitmoyer 20) Ron Haring Jr. 21) Mike Mamanna 22) Eric Biehn 23) Brad Arnold 24) Justin Grim 25) Billy Pauch Jr. 26) Frank Cozze DNQ) Blaine Bracelin, Donny Hartz, Tom Umbenhauer, Duane Howard

Sportsman 1) Doug Hendricks 2) Billy Moyer Jr. 3) Shawn Light 4) Kevin Beach Jr. 5) Mike Lisowski 6) Joe Mooney 7) Ray Woodall Jr. Corey Renninger 9) Robin Schultz 10) Tim Fitzpatrick 11) Wayne Witmer 12) Charles Fayash 13) Todd Huffman 14) Jared Seigfried 15) Chad Putalavage 16) Jared Umbenhauer 17) Harry Landis 18) Josh Hertzog DNS) Mark Herman

Roadrunners 1) Jeremy Becker 2) Chris Holland 3) Glenn Rowan 4) Kyle Killian 5) Ricky Bender 6) Tim Spesak 7) Terry Kramer Jr. John Whyne 9) Tim Fitzpatrick Jr. 10) Jim Kost 11) Kris Ney 12) Devin Trexler 13) TJ Fitzpatrick 14) Shon Elk 15) Alan Renninger 16) Jesse Krasnitsky 17) Marc Berzowski 18) Dave Miller 19) Neil Bressler DQ) Joey Brennan DNS) Charlene Lisowski, Joe Kavanaugh

XCEL 600 Modifieds – Richie Hitzler