GSP Video

Grandview Speedway – August 1, 2015

Mike Bailey Pre-Race Ceremony & 358 Modified Feature Highlights

August 1, 2015 Video Highlights

Order the complete night of racing on DVD from the GSP Shop or get it at the track

Mike Bailey Tribute Video

Late Model Feature Highlights

Sportsman Feature Highlights


Modified racer Mike Bailey remembered in emotional tribute

(Track Press Release) BECHTELSVILLE, PA – The Saturday activities at Grandview Speedway sponsored by WNPV 1440 AM had the emotional evening begin with a tribute to NASCAR Whelen Modified driver Mike Bailey, who had recently returned to racing behind the wheel of his uncle Dennis and aunt Joanne Bailey’s familiar No. 81. The 39-yr. old Kutztown resident who was a husband, father of three and son of Randy and Donna Bailey, passed away very suddenly prior to the start of the 358 Modified feature race, part of a special Thunder on the Hill Series event on Tuesday, July 28.

The field for the T.P. Trailers NASCAR Whelen 358 Modified feature was paced by Mike’s dad Randy driving the No. 81 and then the field went four abreast and circled the 1/3-mile track because it was a formation that Mike Bailey liked to see.

Defending Modified point champion Jeff Strunk, driving the Zubi’s Racing No. 88, passed Meme DeSantis on the 10th lap restart for the lead and went on to score his second Saturday night victory by a sizeable margin over eventual runner-up Duane Howard, who by finishing second moved closer to current point leader Craig VonDohren had built up. Strunk dedicated the win to Mike Bailey, a driver whose friendship he appreciated, and the entire “Bailey Bunch.”

Chuck Schutz recorded back-to-back victories in the BRC NASCAR Late Model 25-lap feature when he passed Lou Egrie Jr. with three laps to go to put the Ty Zeigler-owned No. ONE in victory lane for the fourth time this year.

NASCAR Sportsman action saw a new face in the winner’s circle when rookie Mark Kemmerer held off veteran campaigner Ryan Beltz to record his first career win at the track in the 25-lap event.

Mike Bailey’s son Eli was the honorary starter in the Modified feature and Eric Biehn quickly passed polesitter Todd Smith to take command while Kyle Borror, DeSantis and Ray Swinehart tousled for positions.
DeSantis, driving the low groove, advanced to second on the fifth lap to pressure Biehn for the top spot.
The lead changed on the ninth lap restart needed when Ron Haring Jr. and Jamie Speers spun in turn three. DeSantis charged to the front on the restart and by this time 12th-place starter J. Strunk was on the move and followed through for second.

Biehn caused the final caution when he stopped along the homestretch with mechanical problems. This time when action returned to green flag action, J. Strunk emerged as the new leader.

Within no time Strunk checked out and was being chased down by DeSantis, Swinehart, Borror and rookie Jared Umbenhauer. Back further Howard who started 15th, was aiming to break the top five. He managed to storm into fourth on the 15th lap and by the 18th lap he was battling DeSantis for second.

DeSantis and Howard dueled side-by-side for several laps before Howard finally passed him and set sail after Strunk, who was way ahead dealing with some uncooperative lapped traffic.

No one was able to close in on Strunk to even attempt to gain control as he pulled into the winner’s circle giving himself an early present fir his birthday coming up August 7. Finishing second was Howard trailed by DeSantis for his season best outing, Von Dohren and Umbenhauer. Borror, Frank Cozze, Doug Manmiller, Danny Erb and Don Norris Jr. completed the top ten.

DeSantis, J. Strunk and Biehn won the heats.

The race served as a tune-up for Saturday, August 8 when these same drivers plus a host of others will participate in the 45th annual Forrest Rogers Memorial 50-lap Modified feature sponsored by Pioneer Pole Buildings and paying $10,000 plus added perks to the winner.

Late Model action saw Drew Weisser lead for six laps before he went too high off the fourth turn on the seventh lap restart needed when Wayne Pfeil and Steve Wilson tangled along the backstretch, the same time Randy Stoudt, while running third, pulled out of competition. Egrie Jr. slipped underneath Weisser and into first when action resumed.

Behind Egrie Jr., Weisser, Dan Green, Sean Merkel and Schutz diced for the remaining positions.

S. Merkel, while third, spun between turns three and four for the final yellow on lap 18. Egrie maintained his post on the restart with the order behind him now comprised of Green, Schutz, Dave Ogin and Pfeil.
Schutz overtook second on the 21st lap and one lap later he was at the head of the pack.

The lead never changed and Schutz went on to record his 40th career win chased across by Egrie Jr., Green, Pfeil and Ogin. Rounding out the top ten were Rick Todorow, Kory Fleming, Weisser, S. Merkel and Bill Henning.

Heat winners were Cory Merkel and Stoudt.

In the Sportsman feature, winner Kemmerer led from the drop of the green until the wave of the checkered in the event slowed by two caution flags.

Right on Kemmerer’s bumper from the fourth lap on was Beltz. Action behind them was between Brandon Whitmoyer, Ryan Shupp and Erik Renninger.

By the 15th lap while Kemmerer and Beltz diced for the lead, B. Whitmoyer and Brett Gilmore had their own race for third with Craig Whitmoyer soon joining the thick of the battle.

Kemmerer never allowed Beltz to pass him and went on to score a hard-fought victory with B. Gilmore third, C. Whitmoyer, fourth and B. Whitmoyer, fifth. Sixth through tenth were Mike Lisowski, Kenny Gilmore, Renninger, Ryan Lilick and Brett Kressley, the current point leader.

Paul Kline, R. Lilick and Kemmerer were the heat winners. The consi went to Sean Weiss.

T.P. Trailers NASCAR WNPV 1440 Modified Feature Finish (30 Laps): 1. Jeff Strunk, 2. Duane Howard, 3. Meme DeSantis, 4. Craig Von Dohren, 5. Jared Umbenhauer, 6. Kyle Borror, 7. Frank Cozze, 8. Doug Manmiller, 8. Danny Erb, 10. Don Norris Jr., 11. Glenn Strunk, 12. Ray Swinehart, 13. Ryan Grim, 14. Nate Christman, 15. Mike Gular, 16. Mike Laise, 17, Todd Smith, 18. Brian Houseknecht, 19. Mark Kratz, 20. Jamie Speers, 21. Ron Haring Jr., 22. John Willman, 23. Glenn Owens, 24. Eric Biehn, 25. Kevin Hirthler, 26. Mike Kellner, 27. Blaine Bracelin. DNS: Donnie Hoffman.

WNPV 1440 BRC NASCAR Late Model Feature Finish (25 Laps): 1. Chuck Schutz, 2. Lou Egrie Jr., 3. Dan Green, 4. Wayne Pfeil, 5. Dave Ogin, 6. Rick Todorow, 7. Kory Fleming, 8. Drew Weisser, 9. Sean Merkel, 10. Bill Henning, 11. Joe Fanelli, 12. Ken Eckert Jr., 13. Shawn Horning, 14. Randy Stoudt, 15. Steve Wilson, 16. Steve Gross, 17. Cory Merkel.

WNPV 1440 NASCAR Sportsman Feature Finish (25 Laps): 1. Mark Kemmerer, 2. Ryan Beltz, 3. Brett Gilmore, 4. Craig Whitmoyer, 5. Brandon Whitmoyer, 6. Mike Lisowski, 7. Kenny Gilmore, 8. Erik Renninger, 9. Ryan Lilick, 10. Brett Kressley, 11. Jordan Henn, 12. Brad Brightbill, 13. Brian Hirthler, 14. Ryan Shupp, 15. Joe Funk III, Sean Weiss, 17. Steve Young, 18. Kyle Lilick, 19. Jason Neidlinger, 20. Lex Shive, 21. Paul Houseknecht, 22. Brad Arnold, 23. Jim Housworth, 24. Paul Kline. DNQ: Paul Effrig, Mike Koffel, Nathan Mohr and Jesse Landis.